Air Quality Comission

Air Quality Commission Meetings

Members of the public are invited to attend Air Quality Commission meetings to observe and provide comment. The Commission meets the 4th Monday of every month from 11:30 am to 12:30 pm, unless otherwise communicated. 

In Person:

2145 Suttle Ave. Charlotte, NC 28208 United States 

Hal Marshall Conference Room

Virtually via Teams: 

Click here to join the meeting

+1 704-672-5181,,724725874#   



2024 AQC Meeting Schedule
January 22, 2024July 22, 2024
February 26, 2024August 28, 2024
March 25, 2024September 23, 2024
April 22, 2024October 28, 2024
May 20, 2024November 25, 2024
June 24, 2024December 16, 2024

Note: Meeting minutes will be updated above after approval at the following month's meeting.

2023 Air Quality Commission Annual Report

Historical AQC Meeting Minutes

2019  |  2020  |  2021  |  2022 | 2023

Sign up to receive the AQC's month agenda by email.

About the Air Quality Commission

The Air Quality Commission (AQC) was established in 2002 by the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners (BOCC).  Informative details and guidelines are found in the ​AQC Charter.

AQC Mission - Promote the protection, preservation, and enhancement of the ambient air resources of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina.

AQC Purpose- Provide citizen and stakeholder input to the BOCC, local municipalities, and MCAQ staff through the review and recommendations of air pollution management policies, long range plans, operations, and their budgetary impacts in order to achieve this mission.

View current public comment opportunities


Join the AQC

The Board of County Commissioners is committed to appoint diverse, qualified, and dedicated people to our advisory boards. The Commission is comprised of twelve members. Appointments are for three-year terms and are made by the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners. Applicants are encouraged to attend several meetings prior to completing and submitting an application. 


Mecklenburg County’s Air Quality Commission (AQC) is currently seeking interested and qualified applicants to fill vacancies.

Current AQC Members

AQC Member


Mr. Peter McGrath (AQC Chair)


Mr. Marcus Hackler (Vice Chair)


Rev. Janet Garner Mullins


Ms. Lisa Hooker


Mr. William Lawrence


Dr. Aaron Levy

Health Professional

Dr. Brian Magi


Mr. Richard Matulis




Mr. Billy Powers


Mr. Gregory Twait


Dr. Karl Welke